PDC World Darts Championships 2020 December 13th 2019 to January 1st 2020 Alexandra Palace London Professional Darts Corporation

Grand Slam of Darts 2019 – Tips

Grand Slam of Darts 2019 – Saturday 9th November – Sunday 17th November

Who? 32 qualified players (24 PDC and 8 BDO) in an eight-group, round robin tournament across 8 days for a £125,000 top prize.

Where? Wolverhampton, England

When? 13:00 GMT, Saturday 9th November 2019 (Live on Sky Sports)


The Grand Slam of Darts returns for its 12th consecutive year in Wolverhampton. Gerwyn Price will look to retain his 2018 trophy, but in a less contentious way.

The tournament has a £550,000 total prize money. 32 players will battle it out for the £125,000 winners cash pot should they make it to the Final on Sunday evening. The bonus for a nine-dart leg, however, is a HUGE £25,000.

The reigning champion of this tournament is Gerwyn Price. He is also one of 24 PDC seeded players to feature in the opening round of fixtures. They will play along with eight qualified players from the BDO. Each BDO player will be in a group with three PDC players. So, there are eight groups of four players.

Tournament Schedule

The schedule is a jam-packed one. There will be 16 matches each on Saturday and Sunday, with eight in the afternoon session (13:00 GMT) and eight in the evening session (20:00 GMT). The Monday and Tuesday will feature eight games to conclude the First Round. Wednesday to Thursday will feature the Second Round, but with four matches on each day.

The Quarter-Finals then follow on Friday and Saturday before both Semi-Finals and Final on Sunday.

Below is a look at all groups from Group A to Group H.

Group A

(1) Michael van Gerwen

Adrian Lewis

Ross Smith

Jim Williams (BDO)

Group B

(8) James Wade

Ian White

Steve Lennon

Wesley Harms (BDO)

Group C

(5) Gerwyn Price

Dimitri van den Bergh

Robert Thornton

Mikuru Suzuki (BDO)

Group D

(4) Gary Anderson

Darren Webster

William O’Connor

Dave Parletti (BDO)

Group E

(2) Rob Cross

Dave Chisnall

Jamie Hughes

Lisa Ashton (BDO)

Group F

(7) Peter Wright

Danny Noppert

Ryan Harrington

Wayne Warren (BDO)

Group G

(6) Daryl Gurney

Brendan Dolan

Gabriel Clemens

Richard Veenstra (BDO)

Group H

(3) Michael Smith

Nathan Aspinall

Martin Schindler

Glen Durrant (BDO)


Opening Round Schedule

Saturday, November 9
Afternoon Session (13:00 GMT)
Groups E-H Matches

Nathan Aspinall v Martin Schindler (H)

Danny Noppert v Ryan Harrington (F)

Brendan Dolan v Gabriel Clemens (G)

Dave Chisnall v Jamie Hughes (E)

Daryl Gurney v Richard Veenstra (G)

Peter Wright v Wayne Warren (F)

Rob Cross v Lisa Ashton (E)

Michael Smith v Glen Durrant (H)

Evening Session (20:00 GMT)
Groups A-D Matches

Darren Webster v William O’Connor (D)

Gerwyn Price v Mikuru Suzuki (C)

Ian White v Steve Lennon (B)

Gary Anderson v Dave Parletti (D)

James Wade v Wesley Harms (B)

Michael van Gerwen v Jim Williams (A)

Adrian Lewis v Ross Smith (A)

Dimitri Van den Bergh v Robert Thornton (C)

Outright Winner Odds

Michael van Gerwen (11/10* to Win)

Gerwyn Price (11/1* to Win)


Previous Winners

Since the initiation of the World Series of Darts Finals in 2007, retired Phil Taylor has won the most titles with six and only losing one Final.

The man he lost to is the man looking to catch his records, Michael van Gerwen. After making the Final in 2012 Raymond van Barnefeld, Mighty Mike has gone to win three Grand Slams.

It has been two years since an Englishman has made the Final, and only the third time that has happened. The only previous time was in 2012 when Barney beat van Gerwen.

whenTheFunStops banner e1570199714798

Betting Tips

Ross Smith Match Winner vs Adrian Lewis – 21/20*

Glen Durrant Match Winner vs Michael Smith – 19/20*

Brendan Dolan Match Winner vs Gabriel Clemens  – 21/20*

Treble Accumulator – £10 STAKE RETURNS £81.95*!

*odds as of November 7th at 11:04 GMT and subject to change

For more content, head to the MJ Sport Betting Guide Home.

Sam is an experienced content writer with a history of working in the sports industry. Sam is a media and communication professional with a bachelor's degree focused in Sports Studies.

Top News

Back To Top