championship league snooker

Championship League Snooker betting tips: Sport makes huge UK return

A huge moment for the sport as Championship League Snooker is the first professional sport to return in the UK. We preview the 11-day historic tournament from Milton Keynes.

Snooker Take A Break Blog Banner

Event Details

Who is playing? 64 seeded professional players in a round-robin group tournament

What competition is it? Matchroom Multi Sport Championship League Snooker (non-ranking event)

What does the 2020 Championship League Snooker start? 15:00 GMT, June 1st 2020

Where is the 2020 Championship League Snooker held? Marshall Arena, Milton Keynes

Where can I watch the 2020 Championship League Snooker? ITV4


After a change in venue to adhere to safety rules, the 2020 Championship League Snooker tournament will go ahead. On June 1st, the tournament will get underway from Marshall Arena in Milton Keynes, rather than the Morningside Arena in Leicester. The change in venue allows players, officials and other event staff to not have to leave the venue upon entering due to on-site accommodation.

They selected the 64 players on the tournament based on who wanted to play out of the top 128 players. The top ranked 64 players wanting to take part out of the 128 got a place at the tournament. Other players, including last year’s winner Scott Donaldson, will not be taking part at this year’s tournament.


They split all 64 players into 16 groups of four players. In one afternoon session, players in each group will play against each other to determine the final group standings. The group matches will be a best of four frames format, meaning players can win 3-0, 3-1, or draw 2-2. Similarly to the football format, a win is worth three points, a draw is worth one point, and a defeat is zero points.

Two groups will play each day from June 1st to June 8th to determine the results of all 16 groups. Only the top player from each group progresses to the next stage of the 2020 Championship League Snooker.

Championship League Snooker Groups

Group 1 (Group Winner Odds)

Group 2 (Group Winner Odds)

Group 3 (Group Winner Odds)

Group 4 (Group Winner Odds)

Group 5 (Group Winner Odds)

Group 6 (Group Winner Odds)

Group 7 (Group Winner Odds)

Group 8 (Group Winner Odds)

Group 9 (Group Winner Odds)

Group 10 (Group Winner Odds)

*Odds as of Friday 28th May and subject to change

Tournament Schedule

June 1st – Group 2 and Group 13

June 2nd – Group 3 and Group 9

June 3rd – Group 4 and Group 12

June 4th – Group 5 and Group 14

June 5th – Group 10 and Group 15

June 6th – Group 1 and Group 8

June 7th – Group 7 and Group 16

June 8th – Group 6 and Group 11

June 9th – Group Winners C and Group Winners D

June 10th – Group Winners A and Group Winners B

June 11th – Tournament Finals

Prize Money

The tournament has £218,000 total prize money. The winner of the tournament will receive £30,000. They will earn £20,000 for a victory in the Final and a place in November’s Champion of Champions. Each player will get a £1,000 purse from the tournament regardless of their finish. The runner-up in the Final will receive £8,000.

Outright Winner Odds

*odds as of Friday 29th May and subject to change

Previous Winners

2015 Stuart Bingham 3–2 Mark Davis
2016 Judd Trump 3–2 Ronnie O’Sullivan
2017 John Higgins 3–0 Ryan Day
2018 John Higgins 3–2 Zhou Yuelong
2019 Martin Gould 3–1 Jack Lisowski
2019/20 Scott Donaldson 3–0 Graeme Dott

Sam’s Betting Tip

Judd Trump – 12/5* Outright Winner

whenTheFunStops banner e1570199714798

For more content, head to the MJ Sport Betting Guide Home.

We continue to climb the Feedspot Top 50 Betting Blogs thanks to your support. Thank you.

Sam is an experienced content writer with a history of working in the sports industry. Sam is a media and communication professional with a bachelor's degree focused in Sports Studies.

Top News

Back To Top