championship league snooker

Championship League Snooker: Luca Brecel lights up wonderful Final

The Championship League Snooker delivered a fantastic 11 days of snooker in a safe and entertaining manner. We review the action from Marshall Arena, including some shock results.

Belgian Brecel holds off Woollaston for title

Luca Brecel (Belgium) def. Ben Woollaston (England) to win the 2020 Championship League Snooker title.

The 29-year-old secured the biggest title of his career so far by holding off a fight from Ben Woollaston in his last group match. After taking a 1-0 lead in the first, Englishman Woollaston hit back with two centuries, meaning the Belgian could only draw the match. He produced when it mattered, securing a 111 break in the fourth. This meant he moved onto five points in the group, edging Ben Woollaston to the title and £20,000 cash prize. Woollaston came second, Stuart Bingham came third and Ryan Day made up the group in fourth.

Not only did the Belgian Bullet secure the top cash prize, Luca Brecel earned himself a spot at the prestigious Champion of Champions tournament later this year. He has been on a steady upward trajectory for a few years now, after securing a place in the German Finals in 2016 and winning the 2017 China Championship over Shaun Murphy. He was not even a favourite to win his opening group, an 8/5 second favourite behind Jack Lisowski.

Final favourite Bingham looking ahead

Luca Brecel (Belgium) def. Stuart Bingham (England) 3-0 in the opening match of the 2020 Championship League Snooker Finals.

Many considered the 2015 world champion to be the favourite out of the remaining players on Thursday. However, Bingham’s day got of to the worst start as he suffered a 3-0 beating from eventual champion Luca Brecel. The 44-year-old bounced back however, looking sharp against Ben Woollaston in a 3-1 win in his second group match. However, Ball-run was down on frames in the group table heading into the last match and would have needed a 3-0 win over Ryan Day to have any chance at the title.

It was not to be as a 2-2 draw ended his hopes of a second title win this season after securing the 2020 Masters. He has not qualified for the Coral Tour Finals this month, which are also taking place in Milton Keynes, and will have to focus his attention on July for the World Championships at a potentially spectator less Crucible.

Tournament Favourites knocked out early

Top six favourites for the tournament failed to reach Championship League Snooker Final Four.

It is rare to have a Finals day in which one of Judd Trump, Neil Robertson, Ronnie O’Sullivan, Mark Allen, Mark Selby, and Kyren Wilson aren’t competing. Those six players, all favourites to win the tournament outright, were knocked out before reaching the eleventh and last day of the 2020 Championship League Snooker. Our tip for the tournament, Judd Trump came second in the Group B Winners group on Wednesday after a 3-0 defeat to Ryan Day saw him finish a point behind. Ronnie O’Sullivan finished third behind Stuart Bingham and Sam Craigie.

The other four players never made it out of their knockout groups, making early exits in the tightly contested competition. Neil Robertson, Mark Allen, and Kyren Wilson came second in their groups, whilst The Jester from Leicester finished third on frame difference in Group 5.

Other Highlights from the 2020 Championship League Snooker

  • Judd Trump, Liang Wenbo, Gary Wilson, and Tom Ford secured nine points from nine and dropped just one frame. Ronnie ‘Rocket’ O’Sullivan was the only player to secure a perfect Group record on three wins and no frames lost.
  • Thor Chuan Leong was the only player to finish on 0 points and not record a single frame win in his three matches in Group 8.
  • Luca Brecel won the tournament despite just three wins from his nine matches and dropping 13 frames. He drew six matches 2-2 throughout the tournament, but remained undefeated.

Weigh In Here Blog Banner

Championship League Snooker Group Winners Results

Group A Table

  1. Luca Brecel
  2. Gary Wilson
  3. Mark Joyce
  4. Ashley Carty
  1. Ryan Day
  2. Judd Trump
  3. David Gilbert
  4. Barry Hawkins

Group C Table

  1. Stuart Bingham
  2. Sam Craigie
  3. Ronnie O’Sullivan
  4. Harvey Chandler

Group D Table

  1. Ben Woollaston
  2. Martin O’Donnell
  3. Tom Ford
  4. Liang Wenbo

Championship League Snooker Final Four Results

Tournament Finals Group

  1. Luca Brecel
  2. Ben Woollaston
  3. Stuart Bingham
  4. Ryan Day

whenTheFunStops banner e1570199714798

For more content, head to the MJ Sport Betting Guide Home.

We continue to climb the Feedspot Top 50 Betting Blogs thanks to your support. Thank you.

Sam is an experienced content writer with a history of working in the sports industry. Sam is a media and communication professional with a bachelor's degree focused in Sports Studies.

Top News

Back To Top