john fornander 4R9CcBdQTEg unsplash scaled

Davis Cup Finals 2019 – Tips

Davis Cup 2019 – Monday 18th November – Sunday 24th November

Who? 18 team nations of single tennis players in a three team group of six groups competing across seven days

Where? Madrid, Spain

When? From 15:00 GMT, Monday 18th November 2019


The Davis Cup this year returns in a new format. There has been a mixed response to the change. Rather than play rounds of the tournament throughout the year, they have crammed the Davis Cup into one week. There are now 18 nations competing rather than 16.

Each tie between two nations will have two singles matches and a doubles match played. Instead of playing the best of five sets, they have reduced the format to the best of three sets.

Tournament Schedule

The schedule is a jam-packed one. There will be six nations going head-to-head in the group stages from Monday to Thursday morning.

The Quarter-Finals then follow on Thursday afternoon and all day Friday.

The Semi-Finals are on Saturday before the Final will be played on Sunday after a pre-match performance from music artist Shakira. Her husband and events partner, Gerard Pique, has a huge interest in making this tournament bigger working with the International Tennis Federation. The Barcelona footballer has been criticised for his involvement in changing the format of the tournament for monetary motives.

Below is a look at all groups from Group A to Group F.

Group A




Group B




Group C




Group D




Group E

Great Britain



Group F





Outright Winner Odds

Spain (5/2* to Win)

France (4/1* to Win)

Australia (11/2* to Win)


Previous Winners

Since the turn of the century, the tournament has had 11 different winners. The US and Australia were dominant in the tournament until the 1970s.

The most recent winners were Croatia in 2018. It was the second time the Croats had won, having won in 2002. Marin Cilic was a key figure in the team who got all the way to the Final, before beating France 3-1 in Lille.

Great Britain last won the tournament in 2015, when the Murray brothers Andy and Jamie got the team over the line in the Singles and Doubles matches against Belgium. It was Great Britain’s first Davis Cup title since 1936.

whenTheFunStops banner e1570199714798

Betting Tips

Spain Group B Winners – 4/11*

Australia Group D Winners – 19/20*

Great Britain Group E Winners  – 21/20*

USA Group F Winners 5/4*

Fourfold Accumulator – £10 STAKE RETURNS £60.13*!

*odds as of November 18th at 12:36 GMT and subject to change

For more content, head to the MJ Sport Betting Guide Home.

Sam is an experienced content writer with a history of working in the sports industry. Sam is a media and communication professional with a bachelor's degree focused in Sports Studies.

Top News

Back To Top